Three Officers Promoted to the Rank of Chief Inspector

Fri, 2024-03-15

Darrin Simons, Commissioner of Police today had the honour of promoting Inspectors Derricka Burns, Jason Smith, and Dorian Astwood (pictured right), to the rank of Chief inspector with the Bermuda Police Service, (BPS).

Ms. Burns, Mr. Smith and Mr. Astwood all joined the service via the Police Cadet Programme. The three of them combined, have contributed 93 years of service to Bermuda and her people.

Commissioner Simons in announcing the promotions said of the officers, “Their dedication and leadership have been instrumental in our success, and this promotion is a testament to their hard work and commitment to excellence.”

“I wholeheartedly congratulate our three of our new Chief Inspectors and confidently look forward to the continued growth their leadership will bring. Let's all rally behind them, offering our unwavering support as we embrace this exciting new chapter in our journey to make Bermuda safer.”

Pictured left to right: Deputy Commissioner of Police Na'imah Astwood, Detective Chief Isnpector Derricka Burns, Detective Chief Inspector Jason Smith, Commissioner of Police Darrin Simons. Missing from group photo: Detective Chief Inspector Dorain Astwood.